Table of Contents

  • Introduction by John J. Pierce
  • Editor's Introduction

Stories of the Instrumentality of Mankind

  • No, No, Not Rogov!
  • War No. 81-Q (rewritten version)
  • Mark Elf
  • The Queen of the Afternoon
  • Scanners Live in Vain
  • The Lady Who Sailed The Soul
  • When the People Fell
  • Think Blue, Count Two
  • The Colonel Came Back from the Nothing-at-All
  • The Game of Rat and Dragon
  • The Burning of the Brain
  • From Gustible's Planet
  • Himself in Anachron
  • The Crime and the Glory of Commander Suzdal
  • Golden the Ship Was-Oh! Oh! Oh!
  • The Dead Lady of Clown Town
  • Under Old Earth
  • Drunkboat
  • Mother Hitton's Littul Kittons
  • Alpha Ralpha Boulevard
  • The Ballad of Lost C'mell
  • A Planet Named Shayol
  • On the Gem Planet
  • On the Storm Planet
  • On the Sand Planet
  • Three to a Given Star
  • Down to a Sunless Sea

Other Stories

  • War No. 81-Q (original version)
  • Western Science Is So Wonderful
  • Nancy
  • The Fife of Bodidharma
  • Angerhelm
  • The Good Friends
Click here for the Homepage Go to Ragnar's BOOK Page Ragnar's Weeb Page: Book Stuff
Cordwainer Smith
The Rediscovery of Man
by Cordwainer Smith
Edited by James A. Mann
Ugly Cover art by Jack Gaughan
Hardcover edition, ISBN: 0-915368-56-0,
LC 93-084365, $25.00 US, 1993

The Rediscovery of Man: The Complete Short Science Fiction of Cordwainer Smith is the second book in the "NESFA's Choice" series. It brings back into print all of the short science fiction of Cordwainer Smith, and includes two never before published stories.

It also includes an in-depth introduction to the works of Cordwainer Smith by John J. Pierce, a noted authority on Smith's work.

NESFA Press also publishes Norstrilia, Smith's only SF novel.

Cordwainer Smith

Cordwainer Smith was a pseudonym for Dr. Paul Linebarger. Linebarger was born in Milwaukee in 1913 but grew up in Japan, China, France, and Germany. He was the godson of Sun Yat-sen. He earned his Ph.D. in political science from Johns Hopkins when he was 23.

His first professional science fiction story, "Scanners Live in Vain," was published in Fantasy Book in 1950. It wasn't until the mid-fifties, though, that Frederik Pohl encouraged "Smith" to write more. Most of his science fiction was written between 1955 and 1966. He died in 1966.

In addition to the stories included in this book, Linebarger wrote one SF novel, Norstrilia, and (under other pen names) three mainstream novels--Ria, Corola, and Atomsk. He was also the author of Psychological Warfare, which is still regarded as the authoritative book in its field.

see the grave of
Paul Myron Anthony Linebarger
Major US Army
born July 11, 1913. died August 6, 1966.
Science Fiction Writer, he wrote under the pen name "Cordwainer Smith".


Learn more about the man behind the screen
Click to E-Mail  © Ragnar Torfason
2005 December 28